Knowledge is Power.

For domestic violence survivors, participating in an educational program can be both freeing and empowering. Pursuing Education (GED, Technical Schooling, College, ...) could be a starting point in achieving financial independence and self-sufficiency.

But education can be expensive. We've gathered here information on scholarships available to individuals and families affected by domestic violence. Your local public librarians may be able to help you research other available grants and scholarships.

Arellano Scholarship

Arizona State University offers the Arellano Scholarship for Survivors of Domestic Violence.

Arizona residents and Non-Arizona Residents with 3.00 GPA are eligible to apply.

Course: Multiple courses, including online

Award: Varies


  • Incoming freshman, incoming transfer (undergraduate), freshman, sophomore, junior, senior
  • Need Based
  • Must include letter stating status as victim of domestic abuse. Letter could be from clergy or counselor at a Domestic Violence Agency such as MSCFV.

Deadline: March 12, 2023


WISP Program

The objective of the Women’s Independence Scholarship Program (WISP) is to help survivors of intimate partner abuse obtain an education that will in turn offer them the chance to secure employment, personal independence and self sufficiency.

Scholarship Amount: $500 - $2,000 per semester or quarter

Priority Given to Single Mothers of Young Children, but all female survivors may apply.

Does not need to be a full-time student. Good for trade and technical schools, certificate and short-term programs, as well as college program (Associates, Bachelors and Masters)


First-time applications

January 1 – March 1

September 1 – November 1

Renewal applications

January 1 – March 1

To be eligible to submit an application for the Women’s Independence Scholarship Program all potential applicants must:

  •  Identify as a female survivor of intimate partner abuse
  •  Be physically separated from her abuser a minimum of one year but not more than seven.
  •  Have sought services from a non-profit agency that provides services to survivors of intimate partner abuse for a minimum of 6 consecutive months. This agency is willing to act as sponsor by mentoring and providing support to the student throughout her educational experience and can accept funds on behalf of the applicant, should a scholarship for living expenses be awarded.
  •  Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States, or have an immigration status that makes her eligible for FAFSA, and be a current physical resident of the United States or its territories.
  •  Have applied to or been officially accepted into an accredited course of study at a United States institution.
  •  Demonstrate a critical need for financial assistance. We define critical need as having an income that does not cover living expenses.
  •  Exhibit a strong desire and the ability to complete a training and/or academic program.
  •  Have a definite plan to use the desired training to upgrade skills for career advancement, to train for a new career field, or to enter or reenter the job market.

Legacy Scholarship

Our Legacy Scholarship is awarded based on merit to graduating high school seniors or college students currently enrolled in two or four-year programs and is entirely funded by our Legacy Fund. This program recognizes and honors the survivors, victims, and families who have been affected by Domestic Violence. Our goal is to recognize students for their leadership, commitment to serving their communities, and advocating to end domestic violence

Requirements: Visit their site (linked below) to find out more.

Deadline: Applications open in May 2023


Jeannette Rankin National Scholar Grant

Scholar Grant recipients are age 35 and older, demonstrate financial need, and are pursuing a technical or vocational education, an associate’s degree, or a first bachelor’s degree at an accredited U.S. institution. National Scholar Grants are distributed directly to recipients and are renewable for up to five years.

Scholarship Amount: Up to $5,000

Deadline: February 17, 2023


Live Your Dreams Scholarship

The Live Your Dream Awards, sponsored by the Soroptimist Organization, offers three levels of cash awards. 

Eligibility Requirements Include: You must be a woman who

  • Provides the primary financial support for yourself and your dependents.
  • Has financial need.
  • Is enrolled in or has been accepted to a vocational/skills training program or an undergraduate degree program.
  • Is motivated to achieve your education and career goals.
  • Does not have a graduate degree.

Deadlines: August 1 - November 15.

Funding Amount: Ultimately, a Live Your Dream Awards finalist has the potential receive up to $16,000 to help offset tuition costs, purchase books, get transportation, or find reliable childcare so she can worry less about how to pay her bills and focus on reaching her dreams.

There is also a local Soroptimist Scholarship opportunity. Contact the Soroptimists of Kent and Queen Anne's County for more information.

Deadline: August 1 - November 15, 2023


Patsy Takemoto Mink Education Foundation

Established in 2003, the Patsy Takemoto Mink Education Foundation aims to carry on some of Mink's most ardent commitments: educational access, opportunity, and equity for low-income women, especially mothers; and educational enrichment for children

Scholarship Amount: Five Scholarships of up to $5,000

Eligibility: Low-income, abused and battered mothers who have chosen to take control of their lives and better themselves through education. Recipients of this scholarship may use the funds for tuition and expenses towards a college or technical school of their choosing.

  • must be a woman, at least 17 years of age.
  • must be a mother, with minor children.
  • must be pursuing a first degree at a postsecondary level of education (eg, vocational, associate's, bachelor's, master’s, doctoral) AND degree program must add to level of education accomplished (ex: bachelor's after associate's, or advanced degree after a bachelor's) 

Deadline: Applications available May 2023


Turco Munoz Domestic Violence Survivors Scholarship

The Turco Muñoz Supporting Domestic Violence Survivors Scholarship helps the cause by supporting the education of those who intend to professionally help with the domestic violence crisis. We help by annually paying a $1,000 tuition payment to the school of the scholarship winner.

Eligibility: Candidates must meet these minimum eligibility requirements:

Must have some victim advocacy experience serving DV survivors. For example, experiences as a victim advocate, family law paralegal, social worker, investigator, or other employee of an organization whose mission is to serve domestic violence survivors.

Must be enrolled in either (1) a law school or (2) undergraduate or graduate program with a focus in a relevant field of study.

Must have a genuine intention to focus your career after graduation to serving survivors of domestic violence.

Deadline: July 18 to August 19, 2023